Book Reviews

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants:: Series Review~

Hey guys! Ging here…sorry I am, yet again, taking forever to post something xD My brain has been everywhere so reading and blogging has been pretty splotchy. BUT, without further to do, I’m going to give you guys a book review! Actually…four 😛

This review is going to be split into 2 different parts: Overall review and book one review. If you have read the book or want to know more about the other three books, comment below or send me an email and we can chat (:

So let’s get into it!!

Image result for the sisterhood of the traveling pants books

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Quartet

Ever since I watched this movie and found out there was a series, I wanted to read it! And even though it took me about a two months to read this whole series, I did enjoy it. The series follows a group of friends who find a pair of pants that fits them all. When they first find the pants, in book one, it is also the first summer that the four friends Tibby, Lena, Bridget and Carmen will be away from each other. The series as a whole deals with friendship, growing up, and finding yourself-I’d say its a typical, spunky contemporary series that allows the reader to connect to the characters both through the story and through personal connection.

My overall rating for the entire series is probably a solid 4 star. The middle two books were a little slow and, in my opinion, the 3rd book shouldn’t have been written at all.

Ratings per book: 1st book- 5 stars, 2nd book- 4 stars, 3rd Book- 3 stars, 4th book-4.5 stars

Book One Review

Carmen got the jeans at a thrift shop. They didn’t look all that great: they were worn, dirty, and speckled with bleach. On the night before she and her friends part for the summer, Carmen decides to toss them. But Tibby says they’re great. She’d love to have them. Lena and Bridget also think they’re fabulous. Lena decides that they should all try them on. Whoever they fit best will get them. Nobody knows why, but the pants fit everyone perfectly. Even Carmen (who never thinks she looks good in anything) thinks she looks good in the pants. Over a few bags of cheese puffs, they decide to form a sisterhood and take the vow of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants . . . the next morning, they say good-bye. And then the journey of the pants — and the most memorable summer of their lives — begins

The Sisterhood of the Traveling pants follows the four best friends Tibby, Lena, Bridget and Carmen while they are spending their first summer away from each other. Each of the girls has very different personalities, which I thoroughly enjoyed because it allows for different readers to make different connections to each girl. For myself, I think that I am most like Lena simply because of her talents and personality. The girls each face very big, very different struggles over the summer and I really liked how real they were, even if they were possibly a little extreme at some points (what’s a contemporary without drama? :P) As well, the overall plot was so unique what with having the pants holding the group together and showing that even in distance friendship is still strong. I think that is one thing that I liked a lot about this book: the importance of friendship. A lot of contemporary novels get caught up in romance, and although there is romance in the book, that isn’t the main point to the story. 

As well, the writing style was easy to read and well written. It allowed me to read this book in two or three sittings, that along with the challenges each girl faced and how engaging it was. I have to say when it comes to struggles and plot, the first book was definitely the best, which is why I gave it a 5 star rating!

Overall, I would recommend this series to women readers more because it deals with a lot more feminine issues and it’s about four girl best friends. I would also recommend it to lovers of contemporary and stories of friendship because this was definitely a prime book for that trope! I highly encourage everyone to read at least the first book because it was very very good (:

Have you ever read this series? What were your thoughts? Would you want to read it? I’m curious to know your thoughts, so let me know in the comments below (: Until next time!

ginggyyy

Leave a Reply

