Book Reviews

The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman (Amanda)

The Garden of Small Beginnings by Elly Blake

Published by Berkley

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Pages: 347

Buy this Book

Amazon

This book tells the story of illustrator Lilian Girvan, single mother to Annabel and Claire. Lilian has been a widow for a few years now, but is still dealing with the heartbreaking loss of her husband, Dan. Ever since the car accident in which Dan was killed, Lilian has been living a mundane life, still grieving over her loss.

Lilian works for Poplar Press, a publishing company where she illustrates textbooks. One day she is assigned to be illustrator for a series of vegetable guides for the Bloem Company – one of the largest seed and flower corporations in the world. There is one catch though – Lilian must attend a weekly vegetable gardening class for six weeks. Lilian doesn’t mind this; especially since her kids and sister, Rachel, also are able to attend the class.

What Lilian doesn’t realize is that with the start of these gardening classes, she is about to discover new friends, skills, and lessons – in life, love, and friendship.

I received this ARC (advanced reader copy) in the mail one day, and was so ready to dive into it! I will admit that I am big into nice-looking covers on books – so that was a big selling point with me 🙂 The quotes from reviews on the back of the book made it seem like it would be a very entertaining read.

I actually stopped reading another book to read this one. Honestly, the other book was not capturing my attention at all, mainly because the genre just isn’t something I am interested in and I didn’t care too much for what I was reading. So The Garden of Small Beginnings was a fresh start for me!

The Garden of Small Begninnings was not only heart-warming, but it was also an adventure. From feeling the total despair of missing her husband, to feeling a new spark for a new man, I felt like I was right there with the main character (Lilian) feeling the same emotions. To me, she felt like a real person and I easily got lost in the book.

The vast array of characters were also nice to meet. There were plenty of characters to keep me entertained, but I didn’t lose track of who was who. Every character had his/her own personality and I felt that I got to know a little background for each one. It’s not often that I feel such a connection to all of the characters in a book.

I felt the book dealt with a lot of issues today’s people face. Loneliness, regret, despair, sadness…but also finding true happiness, growth, and new wisdom. The changes in Lilian through the book were wonderful and I was cheering her on. Even Lilian’s sister, Rachel, had some growth through the book. It was very inspirational.

The author, Abbi Waxman, did such a great job writing this book and I had no problem reading it in a couple days. I didn’t want to put it down! I was so excited to write this review for her book. This is Abbi’s first book – I can’t wait to read future books written by her! If she were to read this review, I would tell her thank you. Thank you for writing something that was so heart-warming; it felt like soul food. I would love to meet Abbi one day. Yes, that is how much of an impression she made on me from one book.
I finished the book wanting more. I loved it so much! Definitely would give this book 5 stars as my rating.

I urge you to buy it once it comes out May 2nd! Drop a comment below if you have any questions or if you just want to discuss:)

16144690_371814526515093_25033000_n

2 thoughts on “The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman (Amanda)

  1. Oh my goodness, what a lovely review. I am so pleased and excited that you enjoyed it so much, it’s the whole point of writing!! It’s very, very kind of you to take the time to review it, and I’m glad to say ‘you’re welcome’ and to say thank you right back! If you want a signed bookplate to go in it, send me your mailing address and I’ll send you one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

