Uncategorized

Books & Music!

Hey fellow readers and writers…it’s Amanda again. I’ve been thinking about this post for a while and how exactly I was going to write it…

Frankly I still don’t know how I’m going to write it so I’m actually dictating this blog post to my phone so I can talk as my thoughts flow haha. We’ll see how this goes. I have always been game to try some new stuff when I’m reading.  I recently heard about this new thing you could do; I mean maybe it’s not that new to you guys….but, I heard about how you can make a “book playlist” where you make up a playlist of songs that kind of go with the different scenes or chapters in your book to match the moods and themes. I honestly would love to try this… I guess I’m a little confused as to how I would go about it. I have so much different music I like it’s hard to narrow down to one certain style and honestly I don’t know how good I will be at making a book playlist but we’ll see sometime in the future.

So I know I’m throwing out all these thoughts at you, but for now I’m going to try and pick some books I like and just pick *one* song that I think would go with them that represents the story. Anddd you guys can tell me what you think of my choice or if you have any other suggestions. It’s something to do for fun but I figured this would be a cool post to do and why not include you guys in it?

So my first book that I’m thinking about is November 9 by Colleen Hoover. It is seriously one of the best books I’ve read ever. Now this book is full of angst and romance and drama. And I guess the one song that I think of when I think of this book is Take Me to Church by Hozier. From what I can remember of this song and how I interpret it, basically the singer is “worshipping” a woman that he loves and he’s basically saying “tell me what you want me to do”. He will do anything for her. I mean, that’s what I take from it.  I feel that throughout November 9, the main guy character (Ben) will do anything to be with a certain girl in the book. He is the one that wants to be with her forever…he’s the first one to admit it out loud. And of course the girl has to at first say yes she wants to be with him too and then she later resists it in a way.  I don’t want to give away the plot or what happens in the story but those of you who have read this book know exactly what I’m talking about. It’s very angsty. And an amazing book.

Image result for time traveler's wife book

So on to the next one. Another book that I really liked was The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. It was an interesting read. Definitely different than anything I’ve ever read. It was a romantic book but also had some drama…  From the Ground Up by Dan + Shay is the main song I came up with on this one. The song speaks of strong love and growing old together. What a romantic theme song for a book such as this one. It truly fits the story.

Image result for the hatching ezekiel boone

The Hatching by Ezekiel Boone. For a story as haunting as this one, I would pick Somebody’s Watching Me by Rockwell. Perfect! This book has a lot of spiders in it, constantly on the move, watching for victims. I really don’t want to give away much more of the story line. It’s such a creepy crawly book, this paranoid-sounding song is one I would picture going well with the book.

There you have it! Do you make playlists for books you read? Or do you think of one song that represents the book as a whole? Let me know in the comments!

16144690_371814526515093_25033000_n

 

2 thoughts on “Books & Music!

Leave a Reply

