Top 5 Wed

Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Welcome to Top 5 Wednesday! T5W is hosted over at Goodreads-if you would like to do this yourself, go ahead and follow the link to the group (:

This week on T5W: Books to get you outta of those reading slumps and back into adventure!…Okay not going to lie this one was a little tough. I had to think reeeaalllyyy hard about the times I’ve been in reading slumps and what has gotten me out of them. So, here is the list I am presenting (:

1.) Go Ask Alice

This book was so good. Go Ask Alice is an anonymous book about a girl who finds herself struggling with an addiction. It is supposedly based on a real story, and what makes it even more engaging is that it is short. Like 150 pages or a little more. Written in journal, first person form, this book (and others like it) really get you in the characters shoes and gosh I didn’t want to put it down! It’s a fast paced, exhilarating read that will surely help you get back into a reading mode.

Image result for anonymous books

2.) Your favorite book/series

What’s better than a good old reread? Not much. If you’re dealing with a slump, the best thing to do is try something you’re familiar with. Dive back into a world you know and love. Mine would be the Warriors series. If I’m feeling slump-y, sometimes I’ll just pick up the newest advancement or start from the beginning! I know everyone has different favorites so that’s why I said this instead of Warriors 😛

Image result for warriors cats

3.) A James Patterson Novel

James Patterson books fly by. They may be 300, 400 pages but the format and plots of these books make for quick amazing reads. He is one of my favorite authors and I have tons of his books. If you don’t want commitment of a series, pick up a book like Zoo or The Quickie, or if you want a good series Alex Cross, Maximum Ride and The Woman’s Murder Club are all good places to start!

Image result for james patterson

4.) The Selection Series

If you want some sappy romance, quick reads and a lovely story, The Selection Series is where to go! This series had me scrambling to grab the next installments because it was so gosh darn addicting! And when I say the series, I mean the original three. I haven’t read the extra two but I haven’t heard good things about them. So if you want a happy trilogy go for the books about America and you’ll be happy you did!

Related image

5.) A Dog’s Purpose

This fifth one was hard to choose but I went with A Dog’s Purpose. Mainly because I sped through it in a night and it was so heartwarming and wonderfully written. I had picked it up because of the upcoming movie and ended up with a new favorite book. If you like dog’s you’re already going to enjoy it, and what better way to restart your reading then with dogs?!

Image result for a dog's purpose

So what did you think about my list? What books help you get out of a reading slump? Let me know in the comments below!

ginggyyy

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

