Book Reviews

Frostblood by Elly Blake (Amanda)

Image result for frostblood by elly blakeFrostblood by Elly Blake

Published by Hodder & Stoughton

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Pages: 176

Buy this Book

Amazon

 

This book tells the story of a seventeen-year-old girl named Ruby. Ruby is a special girl in that she is a Fireblood – a person with the special powers of heat and flame. She has had to conceal her powers for her entire life from the Frostblood ruling class; in this world, flame and ice are mortal enemies. One day, Ruby is found by Frostblood soldiers and her mother is killed trying to protect her.

Eventually, rebel Frostbloods seek her help to overthrow their dark-hearted king and she agrees to it. Ruby agrees to this deal and they rescue her from where she is locked up. She is desperate to avenge her mother’s death.

In the following days, Ruby trains with the rebels for the most important moment in her life. There is one thing she is certain of – she has one chance to destroy the ruler who has taken everything from her.
.
Just from reading the summary of this book, I was really excited to read it and decided to buy it. I had high hopes for the book because I love YA fiction and fantasy. I was in the middle of reading another book when I received Frostblood in the mail, so I didn’t pick it up right away to read. I instantly became intrigued with the story when I finally did start reading.
.
This book took me a few days to read, mostly because I was reading it off and on and not in very long sittings. In the end, I had mixed feelings about the book. I felt like some parts were slower and boring to me while other parts were full of excitement.
.
The author did a great job of creating the world the story was set in. It was very easy to understand the different places discussed. She did a good job at describing the features of the different areas the characters were placed throughout the story.
.
I enjoyed getting to know the different characters the author created as well. Ruby, the main character, had various qualities about her that I liked. She was tough and strong, but could also be vulnerable and sweet. I admired her mainly for her determination to become stronger and more skilled in her abilities.
.
What I didn’t really like about the book was how it seemed to not flow well to me. I felt as though the book could have been cut down in size because the story felt more drawn out in parts than it needed to be. Maybe this is just because I kept reading it off and on through a few days instead of in one sitting, but I really felt like I should have been more interested in it to want to keep reading.
.
The story was exciting in some parts, but it was also a little predictable and I knew what was going to happen at times. I like a story that catches you by surprise and keeps you wanting more. This book didn’t really live up to my expectations in this aspect.
.

The story overall is a good one; I would probably give it 3 stars as my rating.

Did you read this book? Drop a comment below if you have and want to discuss:)

16144690_371814526515093_25033000_n

Leave a Reply

