Book Reviews

The Stranger in the Woods Review (Ging)

Image result for the stranger in the woodsThe Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel

Published by Penguin Random House

Genre: Memoir, Non-Fiction

Pages: 194

Advanced Reader Copy-I received this book for review!

Buy this Book

Amazon – Comes out 3/1/17

 

This book contains the remarkable, true story of a man who lived twenty seven years of his life completely isolated from society. How he did so is truly a tale and his reasoning for living alone, surviving with what he could get, is one many readers should come to understand after reading this incredible memoir.

When I first signed up to get this book, I wasn’t quite sure what to suspect, and didn’t really think I would actually get the book. Nevertheless it showed up at my door a little before Christmas. I put it off over the holidays but after I resettled I picked it up and devoured it in one sitting. It’s a short book, not even 200 pages, so it definitely won’t take up a lot of time.

This was a very good book, to my surprise. I am not usually a fan of nonfiction however Finkel did a wonderful job at creating a story with his words. I very much liked his style and it is what overall gripped me into the story. I was captivated by the first page.

I have also never read anything about a ‘hermit’, especially a true story. It really opened my eyes to a topic that I was quite uncertain about and made me wonder in awe how this man was able to live all those years in the Maine wilderness…especially without a fire (Yes he never made a fire!)

Finkel tells his tale from actual accounts with Knight, the man who lived in the forest, and uses adequate amounts of outside sources to help back up or enhance his proposals. Often times this makes a non-fiction book to be more difficult for me to read, but in this case it didn’t bother me.

Since this book was so short, it is pretty easy to review. I found very little I disliked about the book. It was fascinating, engaging, well written and had wonderful content. I especially recommend that fans of the outdoors and hiking pick this book up for their reading pleasure. It really makes you think about what it’s like to live in total isolation and with only your mind, and nature to keep you company.

This isn’t one of my most favorite books, but it was definitely a good read. I highly recommend giving this book a try when it comes out on March 1st!!

ginggyyy

Leave a Reply

