Book Reviews

Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Ging)

Image result for the girl with the dragon tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Published by Vintage Books

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Pages: 644

 

 

 

Buy this Book

Amazon  I  Thriftbooks I  Book Outlet

 

After his conviction of libel against one of Sweden’s most well known men, Mikael Blomkvist is contacted by Henrik Vanger-of the Vanger Corporation-to help him solve one of his family’s most haunting mysteries. The disappearance of Harriet Vanger was one that kept Henrik obsessed for most of his life. Along with the help of an unlikely woman named Lisbeth Sander, who is a young tattoed, pierced, rebel, the two embark into the depths of history to discover what truly happened to the lost girl.

Praise for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I’ve always been a fan of thrillers and mysteries with some of my most favorite books being of the genre. It excites me to say this book is no exception and has very well made it to my ever growing list of favorites. 

I had zero knowledge of the plot diving into this book. I had never seen the movie but had always been intrigued by the book because it was always praised by other people. I finally caved and in one of my past book hauls ordered it for my shelf. Although I’ve read bigger, its sheer size was something that kept me from picking it up until now, but am I ever glad I did so.

The book started off slow.The first 50 pages were quite confusing and agonizing for me to read through. I’m not much of a financier or journalist and so all the talk about Blomkvist’s trial and conviction made me uncertain if I really wanted to continue with the book. But I pressed on, because I’ve found that many good books start of a bit slow. And I’m certainly glad I did. I had intended to finish this book in six days, reading 100 pages per day, but I finished in 4 because the book got simply too compelling to put down. I enjoy books like that, that keep you reading and when you close it you are utterly unsure what to do with yourself. 

This isn’t my first case with such an event.

But to talk about some of the wonderful things in this book, I’ll start with the characters. Larsson did a fantastic job creating Blomkvist and Salander, and they of course were my favorites followed closely by Henrik Vanger. All in all, I didn’t really have any problems with the characters except for the ones of course who were intended to be disliked. Lisbeth Salander was such a quirky, unique character that I had my hopes high for her and wanted her to feel just normal in everyone’s eyes. And Blomkvist was such a casual man who even though he wasn’t like a gentlemen from a Sparks novel, was a gentle man with his mind in the right place, which made him even more attractive as character than just a handsome lover boy. 

Characters aside, the plot was outstanding. The mystery kept me turning pages and frantically trying to solve along with the book and feeling the same shock and realization with Lisbeth and Mikael. I’ve read my fair share of thrillers and this one was by far just as well done as my favorites. I had no real ideas until the characters did and was so engaged with the book. Ah, I’ll always love a good thriller!!

I don’t really want ot give anything away, as always my reviews are intended to be spoiler free. What I can say is that this book was exceptionally well written and I can’t wait to read the other two books in the trilogy. The book left off at a place where I very badly wanted to continue. I highly recommend reading if you haven’t already. Don’t be discouraged like I was about the length, because it will keep you hooked. It is especially a must read if you are a thriller or mystery lover. You won’t be disappointed.

If you’ve already read and want to discuss, send a message (if its spoilery) or comment below. And I’m curious, what’s your favorite thriller?

ginggyyy

Leave a Reply

