Tags

The Reading Habits Book Tag! (Ging says Hello)

Okay, so, first and foremost I want to tell everyone hello and welcome to “Book Babes!” THIS IS THE FIRST EVER POST BY ME. AND EVER.

giphy.gif

If you can’t tell I’m a tiny bit excited :3 Amanda and I have a lot planned for our beginning adventures but since they don’t begin until February and I’m impatient, I wanted to get started early. And I thought, what better way to begin our blogging adventure than to do a tag?!

No I wasn’t tagged but I thought it was a fun one that would be a good eye opener to my bookish habits and well, how I prefer to do my reading. SO LET’S DO THIS.

Questions:

Reading Habits

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
6. One book at a time or several at once?
7. Reading at home or everywhere?
8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
11. Do you write in your books?

Readabits

1. When do you find yourself reading? Morning, afternoon, evening, whenever you get the chance or all the time?
2. What is your best setting to read in?
3. What do you do first – Read or Watch?
4. What form do you prefer? Audiobook, E-book or physical book?
5. Do you have a unique habit when you read?
6. Do book series have to match?

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Honestly I don’t. One minute Ill be sitting on the couch the next hunched over the next and to end it all Ill be snuggled in bed. My preferred place would probably be under all those warm blankets but most times I just plop down wherever I feel and open the book.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I only own like three bookmarks, but nonetheless I still don’t use them :,D Usually I grab the nearest item whether it be a piece of paper, a Popsicle stick, or for my last book I used a stick xD Yes, a stick.

Image result for stick

Cough. Moving on.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

Although I prefer to stop after a chapter, if Im forced to close the book at a random place I can. Unless its really juicy then Ill usually set it aside for a minute and then open it again until someone tells me to put it away. Luckily now that Im not in high school I dont really have that problem hehe.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Not usually. If I want to eat Ill put my book down and do so.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

No. Honestly I don’t understand how people can do this (just me). Id be zoning it out anyway so whats the point? It seems like a nuisance to me and unnecessary. Just read the book, yeah!?

One book at a time or several at once?

Im a one book at a time kinda girl. I prefer to completely dive into one world at a time and fully enjoy it. Ive had to read more than one at a time what with school projects and it resulted in me not enjoying either of the books simply because I couldn’t just focus on one set of characters and plots. I’ve pondered trying to read two at once again, just to see if my habits have changed but eh not really on my list of to dos.

Reading at home or everywhere?

Before I moved on my own, my home was where I preferred to read. I could go to my room and block out everyone. But not it honestly depends on my mood/what Im doing/where Im at. I actually did a lot of my reading at school last semester because I could just sit somewhere and not have to do anything but school. At home I have homework, cleaning, cooking, etc. etc. and sometimes I just would rather watch an episode of Hunter X Hunter instead of read. I do want to get more motivation mind you, to read way more like I used to,but if I get a job that may not be as possible.

Image result for exhausted gif

Literally me everyday after college xD

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

How many people do read aloud? I’ve only ever done this in school when we did that stupid popcorn reading thing. I don’t mind reading out loud, I think I have a level voice and steady pace, but when it comes to reading for enjoyment its all in my head.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I’ve never read ahead really (?) but in the past I’ve skipped pages. I remember I was reading  a book with changing perspectives and I only really liked the one so I kept skipping the others xD If you couldn’t guess I missed a bit of stuff so when I eventually reread it I was shocked haha. Now a days I might skip over a couple words but mostly I just go with the original order xD

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I always intend to keep my books very nice and in good shape. But sometimes the more you read something the more worn out it gets…which is supposed to happen, yeah?

Do you write in your books?

Nonononono I don’t want to ruin the masterpiece xD Like I dont even highlight my textbooks I feel like I’m ruining it!

Image result for no gif

When do you find yourself reading? Morning, afternoon, evening, whenever you get the chance or all the time?

It’s whenever I get a change anymore. It used to be the evening into night (no bedtime for a reader xP) but now it’s kind of a hit or miss, anytime deal.

What is your best setting to read in?

Lately it was in my Chem lecture x,D But my normal preferred setting is just a quiet room surrounded by my cats :3

Image result for reading cats gif

What do you do first – Read or Watch?

If at all possible, I read the book first. Although I don’t enjoy tearing apart a movie or show for all the things it missed from the books, I feel it helps me to also understand the plot fully. Some movies really miss some important things, like I think the Hunger Games really missed out on the actual like Katniss POV emotionally but hey thats just me. But sometimes I have watched before reading and I can see why sometimes that is a better way to do it!

What form do you prefer? Audiobook, E-book or physical book?

Physical all the way! I have a few e-books but there is just something so wrong with not turning a page…I feel like I’ll never finish it or something. Plus well I can’t put those on my bookshelves now can I?! As for audiobooks, Ive never listened…to…one…so no opinion? Heh..

Do you have a unique habit when you read?

Hmm. I usually cant sit still, does that count? Haha other than that not really. I just read.

Do book series have to match?

Okay this is something that annoys me sometimes. MY HaRrY pOtTeR books are not all the same and it bothers the heck out of me. Like not even just paperback v hardback but editions too. Yeah. But im poor and I can’t just buy all the hardbacks or anything right now, so I deal with it.

Image result for cry gif

I dont mind paperback v hardback as much as long as the covers are the same but unity is always good.

Well that was fun! If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged…and Amanda too 😛 Feel free to answer your favorite question in the comments, we would love to hear!

ginggyyy

**Credit to the original creator TheBookJazz!

Leave a Reply

